Council & Sections

Abstract Funding Sources

View a listing of the sources of funding for abstracts accepted by the AGA Insistute for programming at DDW 2014.

Council Section Research Mentor Awards

Each year, the AGA Institute recognizes individuals for their achievements as an outstanding mentor in a specific area of research. This year, six sections accepted nominations. The 2014 Section Research Mentor Award winners are:

  • Clinical Practice: Dawn Provenzale, MD, MS, AGAF
  • Imaging & Advanced Technology: Gary W. Falk, MD, MS, AGAF
  • Immunology, Microbiology & Inflammatory Bowel Diseases: Lloyd F. Mayer, MD
  • Liver & Biliary: M. Bishr Omary, MD, PhD
  • Pancreatic Disorders: Eugene P. DiMagno, MD
  • Regulatory Peptides, Cell Signaling & Molecular Biology: Juanita L. Merchant, MD, PhD

2014 AGA Institute Council Election Results

We are pleased to announce the results of the section elections held by the AGA Institute Council for vice chairs and nominating committee members. 

Recommend changes in abstract descriptor categories, or suggest topics and speakers.

Volunteer to review submitted abstracts or present your work at the next DDW.

What is the AGA Institute Council?

The AGA Institute maintains a council to address the diverse needs and specialties of its members. The AGA Institute members. The AGA Institute Council is made up of elected representatives from the 12 special interest groups, or sections, within the AGA membership. The council is responsible for the AGA Institute’s education program at Digestive Disease Week® (DDW), developing educational resources and holding events in targeted areas of practice throughout the year.

Meet the Council Chair: Richard M. Peek, Jr., MD, AGAF

“Over the past six years, I have had the privilege to serve with a group of dedicated council members who share a passion in establishing and promoting priorities to achieve AGA's goals. My experience as council chair has given me a greater appreciation for the impact that this body can have on the direction of the AGA as a whole.”

Meet the Council Chair-Elect: Maria T. Abreu, MD, AGAF

“I am honored and excited to have been chosen as the next AGA council chair. My goal will be to make the time spent by our AGA members at DDW the most impactful for their professions as clinicians and researchers. We will work as a group to reduce redundancy and make the program the most important single meeting members attend every year.”

How to Join a Section

The council is divided into 12 sections that represent special interest groups among AGA members. AGA invites all members to join up to six sections. By joining a section, AGA members will benefit from networking opportunities, professional recognition and growth, and involvement in the council’s educational programming at DDW and throughout the year. To join or manage your section affiliations, email or visit My AGA. Review your section’s page for ideas on how you can get involved.