Research Service Award

Established in 2006, this award recognizes an individual who has significantly advanced gastroenterological science and research through dedicated efforts. 



Nominees must have dedicated an extraordinary effort to advocacy for the advancement of gastroenterological science and research. Elected officials and individuals in the public and private sectors are eligible. This award will be reviewed annually; however, it will be presented only if a noteworthy nominee is presented. Nominees are not required to be AGA members.

Nominations and Selection

Nominations for this recognition prize are restricted to current members of the AGA Governing Board.  The recipient will be selected by an independent panel of AGA members.


The award recipient will be recognized at Digestive Disease Week®.

Nomination Submission Process

The nomination period for the 2018 award will begin August 1, 2017 and close September 29, 2017.

To submit a nomination, provide a one-page letter of recommendation (multiple signatories allowed) and the curriculum vitae of the nominee. Combine the documents into one PDF file. Title the file by the nominee’s last name and first initial.

Please forward all questions about this and other AGA recognition awards to 301-222-4012 or via email at

Past Recipients (2006–2016)

2006 Frank A. Hamilton, MD
2008 Mushtaq A. Khan, DVM, PhD
2009 Judith M. Podskalny, PhD
2010 Michael K. May, PhD
2011 James E. Everhart, MD, MPH
2013 Stephen P. James, MD
2014 Jose Serrano, MD, PhD

Jay H. Hoofnagle, MD