Distinguished Achievement Award in Basic Science


Established in 1968, this recognition prize honors a senior investigator who has made major accomplishments in basic research that have significantly advanced the science and/or practice of gastroenterology. For the purpose of this award, the term “gastroenterology” encompasses any gastrointestinal discipline, including hepatology. 



The candidate must be an AGA member. Candidates need not be gastroenterologists and consideration will be given to scientists and medical professionals from all fields; however, their contributions must have significantly impacted the understanding of basic biology as it relates to the gastrointestinal tract. Candidates should be able to demonstrate exemplary service to AGA, such as committee service and/or AGA fellowship. 

Nomination and Selection

All AGA members are encouraged to submit a nomination for this award. The recipient will be an individual with a coherent and substantial body of important basic research in gastroenterology and will be selected by an independent panel of AGA members. Governing board members may not nominate or second an AGA member’s nomination for this award.


The recipient will receive a $5,000 honorarium, coach travel reimbursement and meals to include a guest, and hotel accommodations for up to two nights. The recipient will also be recognized at Digestive Disease Week®.

Nomination Deadline and Submission

The nomination period for the 2018 award will begin August 1, 2017 and close September 29, 2017.

To submit a nomination, provide a one-page letter of recommendation (multiple signatories allowed) and the curriculum vitae of the nominee. Combine the documents into one PDF file. Title the file by the nominee’s last name and first initial.

Please forward all questions about this and other AGA recognition awards to 301-222-4012 or via email at awards@gastro.org.

Past Recipients (1968–2016)

2016 Mark Donowitz, MD, AGAF: Intestinal Sodium Absorption/Diarrhea
2014 John A. Williams, MD, PhD: Regulation of the Exocrine Pancreas
2013 Pelayo Correa, MD: Pathology and Epidemiology of Gastrointestinal Cancers
2011 Sidney J. Winawer: Polyps and the Prevention of Colorectal Cancer
2010 Mary K. Estes, PhD: Gastroenteritis Virus Pathogenesis and New Vaccines
2008 John G. Forte: Discovery and Characterization of the H,K-ATPase
2007 Daniel K. Podolsky: Healing and Repair within the GI Tract
2005 Henry J. Binder: Colonic Ion Transport/Diarrhea
2004 Raymond DuBois, Jr.: COX-2
2001 Nicholas F. LaRusso: Cholangiopathies
2002 Gabriel M. Makhlouf: Regulation of Gastrointestinal Function by Gut Peptides
1998 John Walsh: Neurohumoral Control of Gastric Secretion in Humans or Animals/Human Peptic Ulcer Disease
1996 Young S. Kim: Mucosal Glycoproteins
1995 Barry Marshall: Helicobacter Pylori
1993 James D. Jamieson: Exocytosis from the Pancreatic Acinar Cell: The Outs and Ins of It
1991 Jeffrey Gordon: The Use of Transgenic Mice to Study Gut Epithelial Cell Differentiation
1990 Martin C. Carey: Reflections from Moving Objects: Micelles in Bile and Gut Revisisted
1989 James L. Boyer: What Makes Bile Flow?
1987 Joseph H. Szurszewski: Myo-Neural Mechanisms of GI Motility and Dysmotility, Predictors and Disease
1986 Michael D. Levitt: Gaseous Insights into Intestinal Physiology
1984 Michael Field: The Cell Biology of Diarrheal Disease
1983 Kurt Isselbacher: Biochemical Studies of the Structure and Function of the Gut
1981 Warren Strober: Immunoregulatory Defects in Inflammatory Diseases of the Gastrointestinal Tract
1980 Rudi Schmid: Bilirubin: Old and New
1978 John M. Dietschy: The Biological and Clinical Importance of Diffusion Barriers
1977 Cyrus E. Rubin: Blood and Guts: More than a Quarter Century of Morphologic Research
1975 Jared M. Diamond: Functional Organization of Epithelia: Dead End Channels and Leaky Cement
1974 James McGuigan: Development and Current Status of Radioimmunoassay of Gastrin
1973 Charles S. Lieber: Hepatic Injury and Metabolic Adaptation in Alcoholism
1972 Donald M. Small: Biliary Lipids, Bile and Gallstones
1971 John S. Fordtran: Models for the Intestinal Transport of Ions, Water and Sugars
1970 Alan F. Hofmann: Functions and Dysfunctions of Bile Acids
1969 Robert K. Crane: Digestive Absorptive Function: Lessons from the Brush Border
1968 Irwin M. Arias: Inheritable Jaundice in Man and Other Animals