Distinguished Educator Award

Established in 1987, this recognition prize will honor an individual for achievements as an outstanding educator over a lifelong career.



The candidate must be a current AGA member and demonstrate exemplary service to AGA, such as committee service and/or AGA fellowship. The candidate will have a long record of major contributions to education in the field of gastroenterology and/or hepatology and should be an individual who has made outstanding contributions as an educator in gastroenterology on both local and national levels. Contributions may include longtime efforts dedicated to training fellows, publishing educational documents and/or teaching seminars and classes.  

Essential Criteria (all candidates must have this to be considered)  

1. A distinguished record of educating (one or more):

  • Medical students and residents.
  • Fellows and other trainees.
  • And mentoring other specialists.

Additional Criteria  

2. The formulation of broad educational policy and/or writings on the same in the field of gastroenterology and hepatology.

3. The establishment of innovative educational programs that have served as models elsewhere.

4. Contributions to the literature through:  

  • Extensively quoted review articles, editorials and like.
  • Textbooks or textbook chapters relevant to the field of gastroenterology and hepatology.
  • Other forms of enduring material (slides, etc.).

Nomination and Selection

All AGA members are encouraged to submit a nomination for this award. The recipient will be selected by an independent panel of AGA members. 


The recipient will be recognized at Digestive Disease Week®.

Nomination Deadline and Submission

The nomination period for the 2018 award will begin August 1, 2017 and close September 29, 2017.

To submit a nomination, provide a one-page letter of recommendation (multiple signatories allowed) and the curriculum vitae of the nominee. Combine the documents into one PDF file. Title the file by the nominee’s last name and first initial.

Please forward all questions about this and other AGA recognition awards to 301-222-4012 or via email at awards@gastro.org.


Past Recipients (1987–2016)

1987 Theodore M. Bayless, MD
1989 Howard Spiro, MD
1990 Hyman J. Zimmerman, MD
1991 John S. Fordtran, MD
1994 Marvin H. Sleisenger, MD
1995 Norton J. Greenberger, MD
1996 David B. Sachar, MD
1997 Edward W. Moore,
1998 Willis C. Maddrey, MD
1999 Joseph B. Kirsner, MD, PhD
2000 Peter A. Banks, MD
2001 Donald O. Castell, MD
2002 David A. Peura, MD
2003 Sanjiv Chopra, MD
2004 Douglas A. Drossman, MD
2005 John P. Cello, MD
2006 Ray E. Clouse, MD
2007 Satish S. C. Rao, MD, PhD, FRCP
2008 Francis M. Giardiello, MD
2009 William F. Balistreri, MD
2010 Lawrence S. Friedman, MD, AGAF
2011 Helen M. Shields, MD, AGAF
2012 John Del Valle, MD, AGAF
2013 Sheila E. Crowe, MD, AGAF; Douglas K. Rex, MD, AGAF
2014 Joseph C. Kolars, MD, AGAF; Nicholas J. Talley, MD, PhD, AGAF
2015 Patrick S. Kamath, MD; C. Melbern Wilcox, MD, MSPH
2016 David A. Johnson, MD; Suzanne Rose, MD, MSEd, AGAF