William Beaumont Prize in Gastroenterology


Established in 1976, this recognition prize honors a senior investigator who has made a major contribution (a single accomplishment or series of accomplishments) that has significantly advanced care of patients with digestive diseases through clinical or translational research. For the purpose of this award, the term gastroenterology encompasses any gastrointestinal discipline, including hepatology.



The candidate must be an AGA member. Candidates need not be gastroenterologists and consideration will be given to scientists and medical professionals from all fields; however, the nominee’s contributions must have significantly impacted the understanding and/or practice of gastroenterology as it relates to patient care. The recipient will be an individual who has made a unique and outstanding contribution of major importance to the field of gastroenterology, which will lead or has led to important new insights or advances in prevention, diagnosis, management or treatment of digestive disease. Candidates should be able to demonstrate exemplary service to AGA, such as committee service and/or AGA fellowship.

Nomination and Selection

All AGA members are encouraged to submit a nomination for this award. The recipient will be selected by an independent panel of AGA members. Governing board members may not nominate or second an AGA member’s nomination for this award. 


The recipient will receive a $5,000 honorarium, coach travel reimbursement and meals for the recipient and a guest, and hotel accommodations for up to two nights. The recipient will also be recognized at Digestive Disease Week®.

Nomination Deadline and Submission

The nomination period for the 2018 award will begin August 1, 2017 and close September 29, 2017.

To submit a nomination, provide a one-page letter of recommendation (multiple signatories allowed) and the curriculum vitae of the nominee. Combine the documents into one PDF file. Title the file by the nominee’s last name and first initial.

Please forward all questions about this and other AGA recognition awards to 301-222-4012 or via email at awards@gastro.org.

Past Recipients (1976–2016)

1976 R.A. Gregory; Viktor Mutt
1979 Bengt Borgstrom; Alan F. Hofmann
1982 Morton I. Grossman; Sir James W. Black
1985 George Sachs
1985 John G. Forte
1988 Saul Krugman; Mario Rizzetto; Jesse Summers
1991 Thomas E. Starzl
1994 Daniel W. Bradley; Michael Houghton; Qui-Lim Choo; George C. Kuo
1997 Bert Vogelstein
2000 Martin C. Carey; Donald M. Small
2006 Barry J. Marshall, MD
2009 Warren Strober, MD
2012 Richard S. Blumberg, MD, AGAF; Hans Clevers, MD
2015 C. Richard Boland, MD, AGAF
2016 Anna S. Lok, MD, AGAF