Clinical Research Councillor

John M. Inadomi, MD

Clinical Research Councillor, American Gastroenterological Association (AGA)

John M. Inadomi received a degree in mechanical engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He obtained his medical degree from the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF) followed by an internal medicine residency and gastroenterology fellowship at UCSF. Dr. Inadomi has been on the faculty at the University of New Mexico, the University of Michigan, UCSF and the University of Washington, where he is a professor of medicine and adjunct professor of health services, the Cyrus E. Rubin chair and head of the Division of Gastroenterology.

Dr. Inadomi’s research interests include comparative effectiveness analysis and health services/outcomes research. His current focus is optimizing management of Barrett’s esophagus and improving screening to reduce mortality from colorectal cancer. His NIH research portfolio includes CISNET, a consortium of computer simulation scientists with a common goal to conduct comparative effectiveness studies of competing management strategies to reduce cancer mortality; a “bridging the gap between molecular and population based models of cancer development” collaboration between basic, translational and clinical investigators to reduce mortality from esophageal adenocarcinoma; an SBIR to work with a small company to develop and test an interactive, multimedia intervention to increase adherence to colonoscopy preparation; and a project to test innovative interventions to improve adherence to screening tests.

John has been an active member of AGA for 20 years and has served as the chair of the Clinical Practice and Quality Management Committee, chair of the Clinical Practice section of the AGA Council, and is an incoming associate editor for Gastroenterology. He has directed the AGA Spring Post-Graduate Course at Digestive Disease Week and will be the director of the AGA/AASLD Academic Skills Workshop in 2016. He will serve on the governing board as the clinical research councilor 2015-2018.