Distinguished Clinician Award

Two individuals are recognized each year; one award will be given to a member in private practice and one to a member in clinical academic practice.

Established in 1995, these awards recognize members of the practicing community who, by example, combine the art of medicine with the skills demanded by the scientific body of knowledge in service to their patients.


Eligible nominees are practicing clinicians in private practice or academic settings who have exemplified leadership and excellence in the practice of gastroenterology and whose time is spent primarily in the delivery of patient care. Present or past AGA membership is required.

Solicitation of Nominations

Nominations are solicited by the AGA chair via a “call for nominations” in July to the following constituencies: AGA Governing Board, council section chairs, committee chairs, task force chairs, members of the clinical practice section and the membership-at-large; local gastroenterology group representatives; deans of U.S. medical schools and academic-based chiefs of medicine; GI division chiefs and training directors of major academic institutions; editors of major medical journals and presidents of international GI societies.

Process of Selection

The distinguished clinician awards selection committee is comprised of the clinical councillor, chair of the clinical guidelines committee, chair of the practice management and economics committee, vice chair of the clinical practice section, chair of the nominating committee of the clinical practice section, and a clinician member-at-large appointed by the AGA chair. Nomination packages are forwarded to the selection committee for review by December 2014. The committee meets by conference call in January to select the recipients.

Award Recognition

The recipients will receive a crystal award and certificate during Digestive Disease Week®.

Nomination Submission Process

The window for 2015 nominations is now closed. The nomination package must contain the following: curriculum vitae, letter(s) of recommendation (maximum two pages, per letter) that identify the specific accomplishments of the nominee and a bibliography. The above noted documents must be combined into one PDF file and emailed to awards@gastro.org. Hard copies will not be accepted. Please forward all questions about this and other AGA recognition awards to 301-222-4012 or via email to awards@gastro.org.

Approved by the AGA Governing Board, (29) VOTED July, 1995

Past Recipients (1996–2014)

2014 Gary W. Falk, MD, MS, AGAF; Howard L. Taubin, MD
2013 Lawrence R. Schiller, MD, FACP, FACG; Grace H. Elta, MD, AGAF
2012 John I. Allen, MD, MBA, AGAF; Timothy T. Nostrant, MD, AGAF
2011 Ioannis C. Danielides, MD; William J. Tremaine, MD, AGAF
2010 David A. Katzka, MD; James F. Martin, MD, AGAF
2009 Damian H. Augustyn, MD, AGAF; Lin Chang, MD, AGAF; Robert M. Craig, MD; Stephen Goldfinger, MD
2008 Charles J. Lightdale, MD, AGAF; Ronald J. Vender, MD, AGAF
2007 Carla H. Ginsburg, MD; Albert J. Czaja, MD
2006 Alroy A. Chow, MD; Kenneth R. McQuaid, MD
2005 Simmy Bank, MD; George F. Longstreth, MD
2004 James E. Allison, MD; Theodore M. Bayless, MD; John H. Bond, Jr., MD; Cecil H. Chally, MD; William Y. Chey, MD; Julius J. Deren, MD; Thomas D. McCaffery, Jr., MD; Richard E. Sampliner, MD
2003 Atila Ertan, MD; Joseph F. Fitzgerald, MD; John C. Fletcher, MD; Michael R. Fogel, MD; Stanley B. Goldberg, MD; Paul A. Kantrowitz, MD; Mark A. Peppercorn, MD; Satish S. C. Rao, MD; Caroline A. Riely, MD; Charles S. Winans, MD
2002 Marshall S. Bedine, MD, LLC; Ira S. Goldman, MD; Martin L. Greene, MD; John C. McKechnie, MD
2001 Richard R. Babb, MD; Charles M. Bliss, MD; Stuart H. Danovitch, MD
2000 Eugene M. Bozymski, MD; Douglas McGill, MD; Bergein Overholt, MD; John Singleton, MD; Frank Troncale, MD, MS
1999 James J. Cerda, MD; Joseph E. Geenen, MD; Stanley S. Shimoda, MD; Walter R. Thayer, Jr., MD; Alvin M. Zfass, MD
1998 Edgar Achkar, MD; James L. Borland, Jr., MD; Horacio H. Jinich; Burton I. Korelitz, MD; Robert H. Schapiro, MD
1997 Alan J. Cameron, MD; Harvey J. Dworken, MD; L. Frederick Fenster; David E. Langdon, MD; Joseph G. Sweeting, MD
1996 Arnold P. Kaplan, MD; C. Michael Knauer, MD; Daniel E. Polter, MD; Daniel H. Present, MD; Burton A. Shatz, MD