Distinguished Mentor Award

Established in 2004, the Distinguished Mentor Award will recognize two individuals for achievements as outstanding mentors over a lifelong career.


The recipients should be individuals who have made lifelong efforts dedicated to the mentoring of trainees in the field of gastroenterology. AGA membership is required at the time of nomination.

Solicitation of Nominations

Nominations are solicited by the AGA chair via a call for nominations in July to the following constituencies: AGA Governing Board, council section chairs, committee chairs, task force chairs and membership-at-large; deans of U.S. medical schools and academic-based chiefs of medicine; GI division chiefs and training directors of major academic institutions; and trainee members of the AGA.

Process of Selection

The selection committee is comprised of the chair of the AGA Institute Research Policy Committee, two members of the research policy committee and three past distinguished mentor award recipients. All appointments are made by the chair of the research policy committee. Selection committee members may not nominate or second the nomination of an AGA member for this award. Nomination packages are forwarded to the selection committee for review by Nov. 30. Candidates are chosen by the selection committee based primarily on their lifelong contributions to mentoring and training in the field of gastroenterology. Nominees not selected will automatically be carried over to the next year (carry over is for one year only), unless the nominator wishes to withdraw the nomination. The selection committee’s recommendations are presented at the February AGA Governing Board meeting.

Award Recognition

Each recipient will be presented with a crystal award during Digestive Disease Week®.

Nomination Submission Process

The window for 2015 nominations is now closed. The nomination package must contain the following: a primary nomination letter of no more than two pages highlighting the nominees contributions, curriculum vitae, up to eight letters of recommendation (maximum two pages, per letter) that identify the specific accomplishments of the nominee, and a list of the nominees trainees and their current positions. The above documents must be combined into one PDF file and emailed to awards@gastro.org. The nomination file must be titled by the nominee’s last name and first initial. Hard copies will not be accepted. Please forward all questions about this and other AGA recognition awards to 301-222-4012 or via email to wvailor@gastro.org.

Revised: Approved by the AGA Governing Board, (17) VOTED, February 2010

Past Recipients (2005–2014)

2014 Gregory J. Gores, MD, AGAF; Robert S. Sandler, MD, MPH, AGAF
2013 John Thomas Lamont, MD, AGAF
2012 Michael Camilleri, MD, AGAF
2011 Chung Owyang, MD
2010 Tadataka Yamada, MD, AGAF
2009 Jerry S. Trier, MD, AGAF
2008 Michael Field, MD
2007 Henry J. Binder, MD
2006 Young S. Kim
2005 Nicholas F. La Russo