2016-06-16 20:33:29 UTC

Low-FODMAP Diet 103: Getting Started

View PDF Copy PDF Link



The low-FODMAP diet uses three phases to figure out which foods are causing your symptoms. Speak with a doctor or registered dietitian before starting the low-FODMAP diet.

Phase one is an elimination phase when high-FODMAP foods are removed from the diet for a period of four weeks. Phase two is a reintroduction phase when high-FODMAP foods are brought back into the diet in a structured manner to help determine which of the five sugars trigger GI symptoms. Phase three is the liberation phase.


Phase One 


  • Remove all high-FODMAP foods from the diet; remove any foods you have true allergic reactions to as well, even if they are low in FODMAPs.
  • This phase should only be done for about four weeks.
  • Common high-FODMAP foods are:
    • Some fruits, such as:
      • Apples.
      • Apricots.
      • Blackberries.
      • Cherries.
      • Mangoes.
      • Nectarines.
      • Pears.
      • Plums.
      • Watermelon.
    • Some veggies, such as:
      • Artichokes.
      • Asparagus.
      • Beans.
      • Cabbage.
      • Cauliflower.
      • Garlic.
      • Lentils.
      • Mushrooms.
      • Onions.
      • Sugar snap or snow peas.
    • Some dairy, such as:
      • Milk.
      • Yogurt.
      • Custard.
      • Ice cream.
    • Some sweeteners, such as:
      • High-fructose corn syrup.
      • Honey.
    • Foods that have sweeteners ending in “-ol” (many candies or gum), such as:
      • Sorbitol.
      • Mannitol.
      • Xylitol.
      • Maltitol.


Phase Two 


  • Working with your doctor or dietitian, you will be guided on how to bring certain foods from each of the five high-FODMAP sugar categories back into the diet and how much of them to eat. 
  • You will keep track of how you feel after eating certain foods to help you and your doctor or dietitian figure out which sugars are causing your symptoms and at what amounts. 
  • The results will not be the same for each person. 
  • From here, your doctor or dietitian will make a more permanent diet plan that is unique to you.



Phase Three

  • The third and final phase of the low-FODMAP diet is when your dietitian and/or doctor looks over the results of Phase Two and helps you come up with the most liberated, least restricted diet plan possible.
  • This phase helps you ease in to permanent diet changes to help keep symptoms at bay.



Low-FODMAP Diet – What to Know:
  • The low-FODMAP diet can help some people with GI issues, like gas, bloating and diarrhea, by getting rid of certain foods that can cause those symptoms.
  • You should work with your doctor and a dietitian before starting the low-FODMAP diet.
  • The low-FODMAP diet is done in three phases: Phase one gets rids of all high-FODMAP foods, phase two slowly adds them back in and phase three creates a plan to more permanently get rid of symptoms.


© AGA, September 2017

©AGA, July 2016

More on Low-FODMAP Diet

A Psych Component in IBS?

Feb. 2, 2017

Take a look at a new expert critique in the MedPage Today AGA Reading Room on the potential psychological components of irritable bowel syndrome.

2016 AGA Research Scholar Award Supports IBS Research

Dec. 8, 2016

Dr. Kyle Staller is researching the effect of diet and lifestyle in childhood in relation to adult-onset IBS.

AGA Perspectives Examines Role of Anesthesiologists in Routine GI Procedures

July 28, 2016

The latest issue of the magazine features a debate from Drs. Jeff Mandel and John Vargo on this prominent topic.