Recertification Requirements: What You Need to Know

December 06, 2012

Note from our editors: This article is the second in a six-part series aimed to walk you through the American Board of Internal Medicine’s (ABIM) future implementation of changes in physician certification.

By John F. Kuemmerle, MD, AGAF

ABIM diplomates certified after 1989 hold time-limited certificates and must meet requirements for maintenance of certification (MOC) every 10 years to be eligible to take the recertification exam. Grandfathered physicians who hold time-unlimited certificates are not required, but are welcome and encouraged, to participate. At present, physicians must accrue 100 points during each 10-year cycle. Diplomates must obtain 20 points in self-evaluation of medical knowledge and in self-evaluation of practice performance;  the remaining 60 can be from either category. To assist gastroenterologists in meeting these requirements, AGA has developed an ABIM-approved online program that provides both types of MOC credit.

To meet the need for self-evaluation of medical knowledge credits, AGA offers six GI Self-Assessment Modules (GI SAM®) totaling 60 ABIM MOC points, with two additional 10-point modules coming in 2013. In addition, each GI SAM module is eligible for 10 AMA PRA Category 1 CreditsTM.

AGA also offers institute guidebooks that provide concise monographs linked to questions in the ABIM annual update in gastroenterology self-evaluation process modules. The monographs provide a concise critique of each specific clinical disorder with relevant references to guide further learning. Completion of each annual update is worth 10 MOC points towards ABIM recertification.

To satisfy the requirements for self-evaluation of practice performance, AGA offers the procedural sedation/patient safety practice improvement module (PIM). Upon completion of this PIM, physicians earn MOC 20 points meeting requirements for self-assessment of practice performance. This module is an intuitive user-friendly online portal that guides physicians through a chart abstraction of de-identified patient data, compiling these data to help them identify practice patterns and select interventions that can improve practice performance.

Learn more about how AGA can assist you in meeting ABIM’s requirements for recertification.

9 out of 17 users found this page helpful.

Was this page helpful?