2017-09-26 20:01:59 UTC

AGA Award Nominations Window Closes Tomorrow

Sept. 28, 2017

Want to honor a colleague with a highly coveted award? Submit your nomination(s) by tomorrow, Sept. 29, for AGA Recognition Prizes and the AGA Institute Council Research Mentor Award.

Don’t miss the chance to nominate a colleague or peer for an AGA Recognition Prize or the AGA Institute Council Section Research Mentor Award. The nomination window closes tomorrow, Sept. 29 at 5 p.m. ET, and we don't want you to miss out on this opportunitity. You may nominate someone for any of the prizes below using the same online submission site.
AGA Institute Council Section Research Mentor Award
The AGA Institute Council Section Research Mentor Award acknowledges AGA members for their achievements as an outstanding mentor in a specific area of research. Both clinical and basic research mentors are accepted, though the Neurogastroenterology & Motility (NGM) section will be looking specifically for a clinical research mentor this year.
Please note: two AGA Institute Council sections have undergone name changes. The Intestinal Disorders (ID) section is now Basic and Clinical Intestinal Disorders (BCID) and the Imaging & Advanced Technology (IAT) section is now Imaging, Endoscopy & Advanced Technology (IEAT).
AGA Recognition Prizes
  • The Julius Friedenwald Medal, the highest honor bestowed upon an AGA member, recognizes an individual who has contributed significantly to AGA and has made lifelong contributions to the field of gastroenterology.
  • The William Beaumont Prize in Gastroenterology recognizes a senior investigator who has made a contribution (a single accomplishment or series of accomplishments) that has greatly advanced the care of patients with digestive diseases through either clinical or translational research. 
  • The Distinguished Achievement Award in Basic Science recognizes a senior investigator who has made major accomplishments in basic research that have significantly advanced the science and/or practice of any gastrointestinal discipline, to include hepatology.
  • Distinguished Clinician Awards recognizes two individuals who have exemplified leadership and excellence in the practice of gastroenterology; one awardee in private practice and one in clinical academic practice.
  • The Distinguished Educator Award recognizes an individual for achievements as an outstanding educator over a lifelong career.   
  • The Distinguished Mentor Award recognizes an individual for achievements as an outstanding mentor over a lifelong career.
  • Young Investigator Awards honor two young investigators, one in basic science and one in clinical science, for outstanding research achievements.

More on Recognition

5 new GI technologies coming down the pike

April 5, 2018

The five technologies presented during the 2018 AGA Shark Tank represent some of the most innovative tools being introduced to GI.

Announcing the 2018 Section Research Mentor Award recipients

April 3, 2018

Congratulations to these exceptional mentors!

AGA leaders recognized for their contributions to the field

March 27, 2018

View the recipients of this year’s prestigious AGA Recognition Awards.