2015-07-30 13:05:47 UTC

Help Select the 76th Recipient of the Friedenwald Medal

Aug. 4, 2015

Submit your nomination for the award by Sept. 18, 2015.

Since 1941, AGA has awarded the Julius Friedenwald Medal to individuals who have contributed significantly to the society and who have made lifelong contributions to the field of gastroenterology. As an AGA member, you are invited to nominate your colleagues for the 2016 award. To nominate a candidate, submit a one page letter of recommendation, in PDF file format, by Sept. 18, 2015.

Senior gastroenterologists who have spent most of their careers in gastroenterology, have made contributions to the field, are AGA members and have provided significant service to AGA are eligible. 

The winner will join the ranks of distinguished gastroenterologists who have previously received the award. He or she will also receive a $5,000 honorarium and will be presented with an engraved medal during Digestive Disease Week® 2016. Additionally, an article highlighting the recipient’s accomplishments will be published in the May issue of Gastroenterology.

Complete nomination instructions and selection criteria are available on the AGA website.

More on Nominations

Friedenwald Medal: Final Call for Nominations

Sept. 11, 2014

The deadline is approaching to nominate your colleagues who have contributed significantly to AGA and have made lifelong contributions to the field of gastroenterology. Deadline: Sept. 19.

Nominations Sought for AGA Leadership Positions

Sept. 4, 2014

The AGA Nominating Committee is in the midst of identifying candidates for the offices of vice president, practice councillor, clinical research councillor and eight nominees for the 2015-2016 AGA Nominating Committee. Nominations are due by Oct. 1, 2014. Learn more and/or

Call for Nominations: Friedenwald Medal

Aug. 7, 2014

Nominate your colleague(s) for AGA's highest honor, the Julius Friedenwald Medal.