AGA Digestive Health Recognition Program

The AGA Digestive Health Recogniton Program: Demonstrate Quality, Achieve Recognition, Qualify for Incentives and Avoid Penalties

The AGA Digestive Health Recognition Program™ (DHRP™) is a quality improvement program and clinical data registry that allows clinicians to demonstrate and be recognized for superior quality of care in colorectal cancer (CRC) screening and surveillance and in the treatment of hepatitis C virus (HCV) and inflammatory bowel disease (IBD).  The program allows participants to submit data for the CMS Physician Quality Reporting System (PQRS) and ABIM Practice Improvement Module.


DHRP provides clinicians with a fast, simple way to:

  • Gain public recognition for excellence in quality.
  • Qualify for the CMS Physician Quality Reporting System (PQRS) and avoid penalties.
  • Earn potential incentives from health payors.
  • Receive ABIM MOC credits.

Learn more about benefits.


All gastroenterologists are eligible to participate in one or more of the three DHRP modules.


Since beginning its performance measures development work in 2006, the AGA has developed measures around several digestive health conditions and procedures.  These measures include:

HCV Module

IBD Module

CRC Module


PQRS provides an incentive payment to report data on quality measures for covered professional services furnished to Medicare beneficiaries.  Reporting on quality measures for PQRS is accomplished through two different reporting options: 

  • Participants in the HCV and IBD modules can report to PQRS though the qualified registry reporting option. This option requires reporting on 20 patients, a majority of whom must be Medicare Part B fee-for-service patients.

  • Participants in the CRC module can report to PQRS through the QCDR (qualified clinical data registry) reporting option.  This option requires reporting on nine quality measures across three National Quality Strategy domains, including an outcomes measure, for 50 percent of a participant’s Medicare Part B fee-for-service patients.

Bridges to Excellence (BTE) IBD Recognition

Eligible BTE applicants include MDs, DOs, nurse practitioners and physician assistants who have treated at least 25 IBD or HCV patients within the previous year. Eligible PQRS applicants must report on at least 11 unique Medicare Part B fee-for-service patients billed to CMS in 2014.

Practice Improvement Modules (PIM)

DHRP can help you complete an ABIM Practice Improvement Module and meet MOC requirements.

Learn more about PIMs.


Participants only need to enter data once. Review the presentations below and see just how easy DHRP is to use.


AGA members pay only $300 per disease state. Non-AGA members are welcome to participate for a fee of $550 per disease state.

Technical Requirements

Please note: The DHRP platform works best using Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.

For additional program information, please email If you require technical support, please contact

Program made possible by support from AbbVie Inc. and Salix Pharmaceuticals, Inc.