Distinguished Mentor Award


Established in 2005, this recognition prize honors an individual for achievements as an outstanding mentor over a lifelong career.



The candidate must be an AGA member and must demonstrate exemplary service to AGA, to include but not limited to committee service and/or AGA fellowship. The recipient will be an individual who has made lifelong efforts dedicated to the mentoring of trainees in the field of gastroenterology. 

Nomination and Selection

All AGA members are encouraged to submit a nomination for this award. The recipient will be selected by an independent panel of AGA members.


The award recipient will be recognized at Digestive Disease Week®.

Nomination Deadline and Submission

The nomination period for the 2018 award will begin August 1, 2017 and close September 29, 2017.

To submit a nomination, provide a one-page letter of recommendation (multiple signatories allowed) and the curriculum vitae of the nominee. Combine the documents into one PDF file. Title the file by the nominee’s last name and first initial.

Please forward all questions about this and other AGA recognition awards to 301-222-4012 or via email at awards@gastro.org.


Past Recipients (2005–2016)

2005 Nicholas F. La Russo, MD, AGAF
2006 Young S. Kim, MD
2007 Henry J. Binder, MD
2008 Michael Field, MD
2009 Jerry S. Trier, MD, AGAF
2010 Tadataka Yamada, MD, AGAF
2011 Chung Owyang, MD
2012 Michael Camilleri, MD, AGAF
2013 John T. LaMont, MD, AGAF
2014 Gregory J. Gores, MD, AGAF; Robert S. Sandler, MD, MPH, AGAF
2015 Susan J. Henning, PhD; M. Bishr Omary, MD, PhD
2016 Pauline K. Lund, PhD; Anil K. Rustgi, MD, AGAF