Governing Board

Our board is lead by an executive committee of the following members. See all board members

  • Sheila E. Crowe, MD, AGAF
  • David A. Lieberman, MD, AGAF
  • Hashem B. El-Serag, MD, MPH, AGAF
    Vice President
  • Francis M. Giardiello, MD, AGAF
  • Timothy C. Wang, MD, AGAF
    Past President
  • image Robert S. Sandler, MD, MPH, AGAF
    Foundation Chair


The AGA committee structure enables volunteer members to play an active role in the association’s decision-making process. Each committee is assigned a mission and set of responsibilities associated with a particular area within the association. All committees are called upon by the governing board to evaluate and make recommendations regarding matters under their purview. 

Learn more about AGA's committees. 


The AGA Institute maintains a council to address the diverse needs and specialties of its members. The AGA Institute Council is made up of elected representatives from the 13 special interest groups, or sections, within the AGA membership. The council is responsible for the AGA Institute’s education program at Digestive Disease Week® (DDW), developing educational resources and holding events in targeted areas of practice throughout the year. 

  • Maria T. Abreu, MD, AGAFCouncil Chair
  • Learn more about the council and its sections.

National Office Staff

AGA is supported by a great team of staff in our national office in Bethesda, Maryland. Meet the staff .

AGA staff