AGA Institute Research Policy Committee

This Organizational Statement was last revised by the AGA Institute Governing Board, (5) VOTED, November 2015.

Quick Links


To further the Strategic Plan by fostering scientific discovery and the application of new knowledge to improve care of patients with digestive disease. For more information on the research policy committee’s mission and committee structure please review our organizational statement.

Back to Top

Committee Activities

Research Awards

This year, the AGA Research Foundation will provide nearly $1.5 million in research awards from high school students to established investigators. The majority of our awards are career development awards for young investigators.

View Research Funding Opportunities

Back to Top


  • Anil K. Rustgi, MD, AGAF (chair)
  • Jacquelyn J. Maher, MD (vice chair)
  • Clara Abraham, MD
  • Shrikant Anant, PhD, AGAF
  • Ezra Burstein, MD, PhD, AGAF
  • Amitabh Chak, MD
  • Bana Jabri, MD, PhD
  • Michelle K. Kim, MD, MSc, AGAF
  • Benjamin Lebwohl, MD
  • Parambir Dulai, MBBS (trainee member)
  • Stephen P. James, MD (liaison)
  • Gail A. Hecht, MD, MS, AGAF (ex-officio)

Back to Top