2018-04-03 19:50:23 UTC

Announcing the 2018 Section Research Mentor Award recipients

April 3, 2018

Congratulations to these exceptional mentors!

The AGA Institute Council Section Research Mentor Award  acknowledges AGA members for their achievements as outstanding mentors in a specific area of research. We are pleased to announce the 2018 recipients who will be recognized by each of the 13 AGA Institute Council sections during Digestive Disease Week® (DDW) 2018. Congratulations to these exceptional mentors!

AGA Institute Council 2018 Section Research Mentor Award recipients

Basic & Clinical Intestinal Disorders
Gary D. Wu, MD

Cellular & Molecular Gastroenterology
Charalabos Pothoulakis, MD

Clinical Practice
Amnon Sonnenberg, MD, MSc

Esophageal, Gastric & Duodenal Disorders
Nicholas J. Shaheen, MD, MPH, AGAF

Gastrointestinal Oncology
Randall W. Burt, MD, AGAF

Growth, Development & Child Health
Deborah L. Gumucio, PhD

Imaging, Endoscopy & Advanced Technology
Michael B. Wallace, MD, MPH, AGAF

Immunology, Microbiology & Inflammatory Bowel Diseases
Claudio Fiocchi, MD

Liver & Biliary
Scott L. Friedman, MD

Microbiome & Microbial Diseases in the Gastrointestinal Tract
Jeffrey I. Gordon, MD

Neurogastroenterology & Motility
Richard W. McCallum, MD, AGAF

Obesity, Metabolism & Nutrition
Lee M. Kaplan, MD, PhD, AGAF

Pancreatic Disorders
Suresh T. Chari, MD


More on Recognition

5 new GI technologies coming down the pike

April 5, 2018

The five technologies presented during the 2018 AGA Shark Tank represent some of the most innovative tools being introduced to GI.

AGA leaders recognized for their contributions to the field

March 27, 2018

View the recipients of this year’s prestigious AGA Recognition Awards.

AGA Announces 2017-2018 Corporate Roundtable Members

Nov. 15, 2017

Thank you to our Corporate Roundtable members for helping to advance the GI profession.